traffic

TOWS Matrix

The SWOT analysis is primarily used as a descriptive tool to analyse the company in its environment. If you want to develop specific strategic approaches or programmes, you can use the TOWS matrix. The TOWS matrix is derived from the results of the SWOT analysis and serves to derive meaningful strategic approaches from the internal and external factors previously worked out.

TOWS-Matrix

Approach

First, a matrix is built in which the strengths, weaknesses, opportunities and threats are mapped at the edge. Four inner fields are created with the respective factor combinations, such as strengths and opportunities (S/O strategies). Based on the strengths, approaches are systematically developed in this field to exploit the identified opportunities. This is how you work your way through the four inner fields:

  • S/O Strategies use one or more own strengths (S) to exploit certain external opportunities (O) in the environment.
  • S/T Strategies use one or more own strengths (S) to avert or avoid risks (T) from the environment.
  • W/O Strategies eliminate own weaknesses (W) in order to make better use of worthwile opportunities (O) in the environment.
  • W/T Strategies protect own weaknesses (W) from the risks (T) of the external environment.

When developing new approaches, it is important to focus on the prioritised factors from the SWOT analysis. Although no factor should be forgotten, the focus should nevertheless be on the factors that have the greatest influence on the success of the company or project.

TOWS Matrix in Practice

While SWOT analysis is one of the most frequently used tools, the TOWS matrix is extremely rare. The TOWS matrix enables a simple and structured procedure for the development of recommendations for action. This means that if the task is to develop future-oriented strategic solutions or programmes, they should always be developed after the SWOT analysis. It is important to know that the quality of the results is directly correlated to the previous SWOT analysis. So it is important to work with care.

Further Articles

traffic

TOWS-Matrix

Die SWOT-Analyse wird vornehmlich als deskriptives Tool genutzt, um das Unternehmen in seiner Umwelt zu analysieren. Wer konkrete strategische Ansätze oder Programme erarbeiten möchte, kann die TOWS-Matrix verwenden. Die TOWS-Matrix leitet sich aus den Ergebnissen der SWOT-Analyse ab und dient dazu, aus den zuvor erarbeiteten internen und externen Faktoren, sinnvolle strategische Ansätze abzuleiten.

TOWS-Matrix

Vorgehensweise

Zunächst wird eine Matrix gebaut, bei der die Stärken (Strengths), Schwächen (Weaknesses), Chancen (Opportunities) und Risiken (Threats) am Rand abgebildet werden. Es entstehen vier Innenfelder mit den jeweiligen Faktor-Kombinationen, wie beispielsweise Stärken und Chancen (S/O Strategien). Aus den Stärken werden in diesem Feld systematisch Ansätze erarbeitet, die identifizierten Chancen zu nutzen. So arbeitet man sich durch die vier Innenfelder:

  • S/O Strategien nutzen eine oder mehrere eigene Stärken (S), um  bestimmte externe Chancen (O) im Umfeld zu nutzen.
  • S/T Strategien nutzen eine oder mehrere eigene Stärken (S), um Risiken (T) aus dem Umfeld abzuwenden oder zu umgehen.
  • W/O Strategien beseitigen eigene Schwächen (W), um lohnende Chancen (O) im Umfeld besser zu nutzen.
  • W/T Strategien schützen die eigenen Schwächen (W) vor den Risiken (T) des externen Umfelds.

Beim Erarbeiten von Lösungsansätzen ist es wichtig, sich auf die priorisierten Faktoren aus der SWOT-Analyse zu fokussieren. Zwar sollte kein Faktor vergessen werden, dennoch sollte der Schwerpunkt auf den Faktoren liegen, die den größten Einfluss auf den Unternehmens-/ Projekterfolg haben.

TOWS-Matrix in der Praxis

Während die SWOT-Analyse eines der am häufigsten genutzten Tools ist, begegnet man der TOWS-Matrix äußerst selten. Die TOWS-Matrix ermöglicht eine einfache und strukturierte Vorgehensweise zur Entwicklung von Handlungsempfehlungen. Wenn die Aufgabe also darin besteht, zukunftsgerichtet strategische Lösungsansätze oder Programme zu erarbeiten, sollte sie immer im Anschluss an die SWOT-Analyse erarbeitet werden. Wichtig ist zu wissen, dass die Qualität der Ergebnisse in direkter Abhängigkeit von der zuvor durchgeführten SWOT-Analyse steht. Hier sollte also mit viel Sorgfalt gearbeitet werden.

Weitere Beiträge