girl-with-ROBOT

Marketing Automation

Marketing automation is currently on everyone’s lips: everyone who deals with marketing has heard of it. But what exactly is marketing automation and what has to be considered during the introduction and implementation?

customer-funnel

What is Marketing Automation?

Marketing Automation is a software-based approach to lead potential customers (leads) as individually as possible through the sales funnel by means of automated processes and workflows up to the point of purchase. Marketing automation can be used especially in the funnel phases of evaluation and engagement.

The acquisition and collection of (customer) data enables companies to automatically play out content that is as personalized and event-driven as possible for potential customers and that fits the individual information requirements in the respective situation as well as possible.
The aim is to improve both the quality and quantity of the leads that are handed over to the sales department.

How Does Marketing Automation Work?

Marketing automation consists of four essential components: Marketing databases, campaign management, lead management and reporting & analysis.

1. Marketing Databases

  • Transfer of lead data into the marketing automation software: Leads can be generated via different channels and media: Newsletters, websites, surveys, whitepapers etc.
  • Continuous data maintenance and completion
  • Connection and comparison of data with CRM
  • Creation of profiles of prospects based on roles, interests and behaviour

2. Campaign Management

  • Possibility of multi-level campaigns via different channels (e.g. email, social media, website download, etc.)
  • Automated distribution of campaign content based on freely definable workflows
  • Display of individual text modules, images, landing pages, CTAs, etc.
  • Evaluation of the campaigns and transfer of the knowledge gained into the interest profile of a lead

3. Lead Management

  • Classification and evaluation of leads
  • Automatic scoring based on individually definable criteria. The information received and the behavior of the lead are used as a reference. In this way it should be determined when a lead is “sales-ready”, i.e. can be handed over to sales
  • Lead Nurturing: systematic maintenance of leads by playing out specific content at defined times on the basis of prospective customer profiles in order to take leads through the sales funnel step by step
  • If defined criteria are met, the lead is transferred to sales, otherwise it is maintained in lead nurturing

4. Reporting und Analyses

  • All campaigns are constantly analysed and reported in order to derive optimisation potential and improve effectiveness

Marketing Automation

Advantages of Marketing Automation:

  • Improved efficiency: Automated workflows and optimized campaigns through detailed tracking
  • Improved probability of closure: through individually selected information that meets precisely defined information requirements
  • Lower costs per lead: Only passing on qualified leads to the sales department
  • Reactivation of inactive leads: inactive leads remain in the tool and can be further maintained

Marketing Automation in Practice

In practice, silo thinking is often encountered in marketing and sales. However, when introducing marketing automation, close coordination between these two departments is essential in order to create efficient processes and meet the requirements of both departments. After all, marketing automation serves not only to relieve the marketing department of routine tasks, but first and foremost to be able to hand over more and better qualified leads to the sales department.

The introduction of marketing automation requires a well thought-out concept and sufficient content: in addition to the desired functional scope of the automation platform, concepts for campaign management must be developed that describe which leads in the sales funnel have which information requirements and when. Buyer personas can also be extremely helpful here.

Content is King! Another important aspect, which is often underestimated in advance, is the need for sufficiently high-quality content, which is based on a solid understanding of the buyer personas and can be played out in the context of the campaigns. Here it must be decided whether content should be created internally or externally by an agency. Internally, resources are tied up, external content is often costly and agencies often lack the appropriate technical expertise.

Furthermore, the introduction of marketing automation is not the same as the rationalization of marketing employees – on the contrary. Automation eliminates many routine tasks, allowing marketing staff to focus more on their core tasks. In addition, the data acquired in the context of marketing automation must be evaluated and interpreted in order to further optimize campaigns and workflows.

 

 

Further Articles

girl-with-ROBOT

Marketing Automation

Marketing Automation ist zurzeit in aller Munde: Jeder, der sich mit Marketing beschäftigt, hat schon mal davon gehört. Doch was genau ist Marketing Automation und was gilt es bei der Einführung und Umsetzung zu beachten?

customer-funnel

Was ist Marketing Automation?

Bei Marketing Automation handelt es sich um eine software-basierte Methodik, mit deren Hilfe potenzielle Kunden (Leads) durch automatisierte Prozesse und Workflows möglichst individuell durch den Sales Funnel bis zum Kauf geführt werden sollen. Dabei kann Marketing Automation insbesondere in den Funnel-Phasen Evaluation und Engagement eingesetzt werden.

Das Erfassen und Sammeln von (Kunden-) Daten ermöglicht Unternehmen, potenziellen Kunden möglichst personalisierte und ereignisgesteuerte Inhalte, die möglichst gut zum individuellen Informationsbedarf in der jeweiligen Situation passen, automatisiert auszuspielen.
Ziel ist es, sowohl Qualität als auch Quantität der Leads, die an den Vertrieb übergeben werden, zu verbessern.

Wie funktioniert Marketing Automation?

Marketing Automation besteht dabei aus vier wesentlichen Bestandteilen: Marketing Datenbanken, Kampagnen-Management, Lead Management und Reporting & Analysen.

1. Marketing Datenbanken

  • Überführung von Lead-Daten in die Marketing Automation Software: Leads können dabei über unterschiedliche Kanäle und Medien generiert werden: Newsletter, Website, Umfragen, Whitepaper etc…
  • Kontinuierliche Pflege und Vervollständigung der Daten
  • Anbindung und Abgleich der Daten mit dem CRM
  • Erstellung von Interessenten-Profilen auf Basis von Rollen, Interessen und Verhalten

2. Kampagnen-Management

  • Möglichkeit mehrstufiger Kampagnen über unterschiedliche Kanäle (z.B. Email, Social Media, Website-Download, etc.)
  • Automatisiertes Versenden des Kampagnen-Contents auf Basis frei definierbarer Workflows
  • Ausspielung individueller Textbausteine, Bilder, Landingpages, CTAs, etc.
  • Auswertung der Kampagnen und Überführung der gewonnenen Erkenntnisse in das Interessenprofil eines Leads.

3. Lead Management

  • Klassifikation und Bewertung von Leads
  • Automatisches Scoring auf Basis individuell definierbarer Kriterien. Dabei werden erhaltene Informationen und das Verhalten des Leads zugrunde gelegt. Auf diese Weise soll bestimmt werden, wann ein Lead „Sales-ready“ ist, also an den Vertrieb übergeben werden kann.
  • Lead Nurturing: systematische Pflege von Leads, indem auf Basis von Interessenten-Profilen spezifischer Content zu definierten Zeitpunkten ausgespielt wird, um Leads nach und nach durch den Sales Funnel zu führen.
  • Bei Erfüllung definierter Kriterien wird der Lead an den Vertrieb übergeben, andernfalls weiter im Rahmen des Lead Nurturing gepflegt.

4. Reporting und Analysen

  • Alle Kampagnen werden permanent analysiert und reportet, um Optimierungspotenziale abzuleiten und die Effektivität zu verbessern.

marketing-automation

Vorteile von Marketing Automation:

  • Verbesserte Effizienz: Automatisierung der Workflows sowie Optimierung von Kampagnen durch detailliertes Tracking
  • Verbesserte Abschlusswahrscheinlichkeit: durch individuell ausgespielte Informationen, die genau definierte Informationsbedürfnisse erfüllen
  • Minimierung von Lead-Verlusten: Weitergabe der besten Leads an den Vertrieb, Pflege von Leads während der Informationssuche
  • Geringere Kosten per Lead: Nur Weitergabe von qualifizierten Leads an den Vertrieb
  • Wiederbeleben von inaktiven Leads: inaktive Leads verbleiben im Tool und können weiter gepflegt werden

Marketing Automation in der Praxis

In der Praxis trifft man oft auf Silo-Denken in Marketing und Vertrieb. Bei der Einführung von Marketing Automation ist eine enge Abstimmung zwischen diesen beiden Abteilungen jedoch unerlässlich, damit effiziente Prozesse geschaffen und die Anforderungen beider Abteilungen berücksichtigt werden. Schließlich dient Marketing Automation nicht nur dazu, die Marketing-Abteilung von Routine-Aufgaben zu entlasten, sondern auch und vor allem dazu, mehr und besser qualifizierte Leads an den Vertrieb übergeben zu können.

Für die Einführung von Marketing Automation bedarf es eines durchdachten Konzeptes und ausreichend Content: neben dem gewünschten Funktionsumfang der Automation-Plattform müssen Konzepte für das Kampagnen-Management entwickelt werden, in denen beschrieben wird, welchen Informationsbedarf welcher Lead an welcher Stelle im Sales Funnel aufweist. Dabei können auch Buyer Personas äußerst hilfreich sein.

Content is King! Ein weiterer wichtiger Aspekt, der in der Praxis vorab häufig unterschätzt wird, ist der Bedarf an ausreichend hochwertigem Content, der auf einem soliden Verständnis der Buyer Personas beruht und im Rahmen der Kampagnen ausgespielt werden kann. Hier muss entschieden werden, ob Content intern oder extern durch eine Agentur erstellt werden soll. Intern werden Ressourcen gebunden, externer Content ist oft kostspielig und Agenturen fehlt häufig die entsprechende fachliche Expertise.

Die Einführung von Marketing Automation ist darüber hinaus nicht gleichbedeutend mit der Wegrationalisierung von Marketing-Mitarbeitern, im Gegenteil. Durch die Automatisierung fallen viele Routine-Aufgaben weg, sodass Marketing-Mitarbeiter sich verstärkt auf ihre Kernaufgaben fokussieren können. Zudem müssen die im Rahmen von Marketing Automation gewonnen Daten ausgewertet und interpretiert, um Kampagnen und Workflows weiter zu optimieren.

Weitere Beiträge