face

Empathy Map Canvas – How to Put Yourself in the Customer’s Shoes

The Empathy Map was developed by author and Xplane founder Dave Gray as a tool to develop a deep, shared understanding and empathy for customers. It can help in workshops for target group analysis and in the (further) development of personas.

The Empathy Map is created on a large sheet of paper, which is divided into seven fields with questions about the target group. A separate map is created for each target group or persona. The workshop participants have the task of putting themselves in the position of the target group and finding answers from their perspective. The answers are noted on post-its and pasted into the respective fields.

 

Approach

 

First, the groups of people are determined and the goals defined. Next, the perceived environment and one’s own behaviour are observed. Once you have collected enough impressions, you try to imagine yourself more deeply into the people and to understand what they think and how they feel:

  1. Who are we empathizing with?
  • Who do we want to understand?
  • What situation are they in?
  • What role do they have in this situation?

 

  1. What do they need to do?
  • What do they have to do differently?
  • Which task do they have to do?
  • What decision do they have to make?
  • How do we know they were successful?

 

  1. What do they see?
  • What do they see on the market?
  • What do they see in their immediate surroundings?
  • What do they see in other people?
  • What are they looking at and reading?

 

  1. What do they say?
  • What did we hear them say?
  • What could they say?

 

  1. What do they do?
  • What are they doing today?
  • What behavior have we observed?
  • What could they do?

 

  1. What do they hear?
  • What do others say?
  • What do they hear from friends?
  • What do they hear from colleagues?
  • What do they hear through several corners?

 

  1. What do they think and feel?
  • PAINS – What fears and worries do they have?
  • GAINS – What expectations, hopes and dreams do they have?

empathy-map-canvas

The Emapthy Map in Practice

 

The Empathy Map is very well suited not only to describe target groups, but to put yourself in their place. After all, the better you know your target groups, the better you can respond to their needs. Based on the objectives of the people, the behaviour and all influencing factors in the environment are examined. Based on this, we anticipate how people actually think and feel.

Unlike most tools and models, the Empathy Map does not require in-depth analysis. It should rather be seen as a discussion guide that helps to approach the target groups step by step and in a structured way. The result should be regularly adjusted and supplemented with new findings and experiences.

Further Articles

face

Empathy Map Canvas – Wie man sich in den Kunden hineinversetzt

Die Empathy Map Canvas wurde vom Autor und Xplane-Gründer Dave Gray als Hilfsmittel entwickelt, um ein tiefes, gemeinsames Verständnis und Einfühlungsvermögen für Kunden zu entwickeln. Sie kann in Workshops zur Zielgruppenanalyse und bei der (Weiter-)Entwicklung von Personas helfen.

Die Empathy Map wird auf einem großen Papierbogen erstellt, der in sieben Felder mit Fragen zur Zielgruppe aufgeteilt wird. Für jede Zielgruppe bzw. jede Persona wird eine eigene Map erstellt. Die Workshop-Teilnehmer haben die Aufgabe, sich in die Zielgruppe hineinzuversetzen und aus ihrer Perspektive Antworten zu finden. Die Antworten werden auf Post-Its notiert und in die jeweiligen Felder geklebt.

 

Vorgehensweise

 

Zunächst werden die Personengruppen bestimmt und die Ziele definiert. Als nächstes wird das wahrgenommene Umfeld und das eigene Verhalten observiert. Hat man genügend Eindrücke gesammelt, versucht man sich tiefer in die Personen hineinzuversetzen und zu verstehen, was sie denken und wie sie fühlen:

  1. Who are we empathizing with?
  • Welche Personen wollen wir verstehen?
  • In welcher Situation befinden sie sich?
  • Welche Rolle haben sie in dieser Situation?

 

  1. What do they need to do?
  • Was müssen sie anders machen?
  • Welche Aufgabe müssen sie erledigen?
  • Welche Entscheidung müssen sie treffen?
  • Wie erkennen wir, dass sie erfolgreich waren?

 

  1. What do they see?
  • Was sehen sie auf dem Markt?
  • Was sehen sie in ihrer unmittelbaren Umgebung?
  • Was sehen sie bei anderen Personen?
  • Was sehen sie sich an und was lesen sie?

 

  1. What do they say?
  • Was haben wir sie sagen gehört?
  • Was könnten sie sagen?

 

  1. What do they do?
  • Was machen sie heute?
  • Welches Verhalten haben wir beobachtet?
  • Was könnten sie tun?

 

  1. What do they hear?
  • Was hören sie andere sagen?
  • Was hören sie von Freunden?
  • Was hören sie von Kollegen?
  • Was hören sie über mehrere Ecken?

 

  1. What do they think and feel?
  • PAINS – Welche Ängste und Sorgen haben sie?
  • GAINS – Welche Erwartungen, Hoffnungen und Träume haben sie?

empathy-map-canvas

Die Emapthy Map in der Praxis

 

Die Empathy Map Canvas eignet sich sehr gut dafür, Zielgruppen nicht nur zu beschreiben, sondern sich in sie hineinzuversetzen. Denn grundsätzlich gilt: Je besser ich meine Zielgruppen kenne, desto besser kann ich auf ihre Bedürfnisse eingehen. Ausgehend von der Zielsetzung der Personen, werden das eigene Verhalten und alle Einflussfaktoren im Umfeld untersucht. Darauf basierend wird antizipiert, wie die Personen tatsächlich denken und fühlen.

Im Gegensatz zu den meisten Werkzeugen und Modellen, spielen bei der Empathy Map fundierte Analysen keine so große Rolle. Sie sollte eher als Diskussions-Leitfaden gesehen werden, der dabei hilft, sich Stück für Stück und strukturiert an die Zielgruppen heranzutasten. Das Ergebnis, also die eigene Einschätzung der Zielgruppe,  sollte mit neuen Erkenntnissen und Erfahrungen regelmäßig angepasst und ergänzt werden.

Weitere Beiträge