Content-Marketing-Tips

Content Marketing – Paid, Owned, Earned Media

In content marketing, everything is about the customer. After all, the aim is to entertain, inform or convince them. But companies also have their own content requirements. It should be produced efficiently, have a certain “life span” and improve visibility on the web.

Media Types

Customers come into contact with a company’s content via various media. Generally, three different types of media can be distinguished: Paid Media, Owned Media and Earned Media.

Paid Media

As the name suggests, paid media are media such as search engine ads, display ads or social ads, that the company pays for. The primary goal is to increase brand awareness and reach as many interested parties as possible. Depending on the channel selected, target group-specific targeting is possible.

Advantages

  • Direct response
  • High range possible
  • Precise control and management (e.g. costs)

Disadvantages

  • Rather low response
  • A lot of competition (depending on topic)
  • Low credibility
  • Can be perceived as intrusive

Owned Media

Owned media refers to the company’s own media. This includes own websites, social media channels, blogs, newsletters, etc. The own media form the basis for the entire online communication, to which all types of media can be linked. The aim here is to create a brand experience for interested parties.

Advantages

  • Monitoring and control
  • Adaptable to the target group
  • CI-compliant design possible

Disadvantages

  • Time and resource intensive
  • Medium credibility

Earned Media

Earned Media cannot be directly controlled, but is created by mentions, likes, comments in social media or by organic links, quotes, etc. on other websites. This response must be earned. This is best achieved through particularly high-quality and unique content that is often shared.

Advantages

  • High Credibility
  • Interactive
  • Long-term impact

Disadvantages

  • Can also be negative (e.g. shit storm)
  • No direct control (trial & error)
  • Requires highlights (e.g. product differentiation, price, or creative idea)
  • Difficult to measure
  • Must be built up over the long term

How can the Media Types be Used?

The three media types work hand in hand and can complement or even reinforce each other. The task is therefore to combine them in a target-oriented way and to record or feed them with different content formats. How to make the best use of marketing resources depends on many factors:

  • What is the objective of the company? (e.g. range vs. conversions)
  • How competitive is the industry? (Costs for paid media)
  • How does the target group behave online? (e.g. social media in B2B environment)
  • How established is the company’s website/webshop?

Content Marketing in Practice

The biggest challenge is to understand the users and to use content in a targeted way building on each other via suitable channels. Today, companies often rely mainly on paid media, as the positive effect is directly visible and easily measurable. The importance of Owned Media is well known, but due to the rather long-term effect and the tedious creation of own content often receives too little attention. It should not be forgotten that paid and earned media usually lead to the own channels so there is no way around high-quality content. Increasing organic visibility may be tedious, but in the long run it is the most efficient way to get or stay in contact with interested parties.
It is now known that content created primarily for search engines no longer works. Texts with an excessively high keyword density or purchased backlinks are at the expense of comprehensibility and user-friendliness and have not led to higher rankings in organic search results for some years. Google is constantly working on the algorithm to be as close as possible to users’ needs and to rank the most relevant results the highest.
In lifestyle-oriented brands with a strong marketing focus, it has been clear for some time that content is used with a customer/user-oriented strategy and a lot of resources. The benchmark is Red Bull. Red Bull uses high-quality content in many different media and achieves a very high reach and interaction due to the relevance and uniqueness of the content.

Further Articles

Content-Marketing-Tips

Content Marketing – Paid, Owned, Earned Media

Im Content Marketing dreht sich alles um den Kunden. Schließlich besteht das Ziel darin, ihn zu unterhalten, zu informieren oder zu überzeugen. Doch Unternehmen haben auch eigene Anforderungen an Content. Er soll effizient produziert werden, eine gewisse „Lebensdauer“ haben und die Sichtbarkeit im Web verbessern.

Media Typen

Kunden kommen über verschiedene Medien mit dem Content eines Unternehmens in Berührung. Generell können drei verschiedene Medientypen unterschieden werden: Paid Media, Owned Media und Earned Media.

Content-Marketing, Media-Types

Paid Media

Unter Paid Media versteht man bezahlte Medien, wie bspw. Suchmaschinenanzeigen, Display Ads, oder Social Ads. Das Ziel besteht in erster Linie darin, die Markenwahrnehmung zu erhöhen und möglichst viele Interessenten zu erreichen. Dabei ist je nach gewähltem Kanal ein zielgruppenspezifisches Targeting möglich.

Vorteile

  • Direkte Response
  • Hohe Reichweite möglich
  • Präzise Kontrolle und Steuerung (z.B. Kosten)

Nachteile

  • Relativ niedrige Response
  • Viel Wettbewerb (Themenabhängig)
  • Niedrige Glaubwürdigkeit
  • Kann als aufdringlich empfunden werden

Owned Media

Mit Owned Media bezeichnet man die eigenen Medien des Unternehmens. Dazu gehören eigene Webseiten, Social Media-Kanäle, Blogs, Newsletter, etc. Die eigenen Medien bilden die Basis für die gesamte Online-Kommunikation, auf die von allen Medientypen verlinkt werden kann. Hier wird das Ziel verfolgt, ein Markenerlebnis für Interessenten zu schaffen.

Vorteile

  • Kontrolle und Steuerung
  • Langfristige Wirkung
  • Auf die Zielgruppe anpassbar
  • CI-konform gestaltbar

Nachteile

  • Zeit- und Ressourcen-intensiv
  • Mittlere Glaubwürdigkeit

Earned Media

Earned Media lässt sich nicht direkt Steuern, sondern entsteht durch Erwähnungen, Likes, Kommentare in sozialen Medien oder durch organische Verlinkungen, Zitate, etc. auf anderen Webseiten. Dieser Response muss verdient werden. Am besten gelingt dies durch besonders hochwertigen und einzigartigen Content, der gerne geteilt wird.

Vorteile

  • Hohe Glaubwürdigkeit
  • Interaktiv
  • Langfristige Wirkung

Nachteile

  • Kann auch negativ sein (z.B. Shitstorm)
  • Keine direkte Steuerung möglich (Trial & Error)
  • Erfordert Highlights (bspw. Produkt-Differenzierung, Preis, oder Kreativ-Idee)
  • Schwer zu messen
  • Muss langfristig aufgebaut werden

Wie können die Media Typen eingesetzt werden?

Die drei Medientypen arbeiten Hand in Hand und können sich gegenseitig ergänzen oder sogar verstärken. Die Aufgabe besteht also darin, sie zielführend zu kombinieren und mit unterschiedlichen Content-Formaten zu bespielen oder zu füttern. Wie man die Marketingressourcen optimal einsetzt, hängt von vielen Faktoren ab:

  • Was ist die Zielsetzung des Unternehmens? (z.B. Reichweite vs. Conversions)
  • Wie hoch ist der Wettbewerb in der Branche? (Kosten für Paid Media)
  • Wie verhält sich die Zielgruppe online? (z.B. Social Media im B2B Umfeld)
  • Wie etabliert ist die Website/ der Webshop des Unternehmens?

Content Marketing in der Praxis

Die größte Herausforderung besteht darin, seine Nutzer zu verstehen und Content aufeinander aufbauend über geeignete Kanäle zielgerichtet einzusetzen. In Unternehmen wird heute oft hauptsächlich auf Paid Media gesetzt, da der positive Effekt direkt ersichtlich und gut messbar ist. Die Bedeutung von Owned Media ist zwar bekannt, aber aufgrund der eher langfristigen Wirkung und der mühsamen Erstellung erhält eigener Content häufig zu wenig Beachtung. Dabei sollte nicht vergessen werden, dass Paid und Earned Media in der Regel zu den eigenen Kanälen führen und damit kein Weg an qualitativ hochwertigem Content vorbeiführt. Die Steigerung der organischen Sichtbarkeit ist zwar mühsam, aber langfristig betrachtet der effizienteste Weg, mit Interessenten in Kontakt zu kommen oder zu bleiben.
Inzwischen ist bekannt, dass Content, der in erster Linie für Suchmaschinen erstellt wird, nicht mehr funktioniert. Texte mit zu hoher Keyword-Dichte oder gekauften Backlinks gehen auf Kosten der Verständlichkeit und Nutzerfreundlichkeit und führen seit einigen Jahren auch nicht mehr zu höheren Rankings in organischen Suchergebnissen. Google arbeitet stetig am Algorithmus, um möglichst nah an den Bedürfnissen der Nutzer zu sein und die relevantesten Ergebnisse am höchsten zu ranken.
Bei Lifestyle-orientierten Marken mit starkem Marketingfokus kann man bereits seit einiger Zeit deutlich erkennen, dass Content mit einer am Kunden/ Nutzer orientierten Strategie und viel Ressourceneinsatz eingesetzt wird. Als Benchmark kann man das Unternehmen Red Bull nennen. Red Bull setzt hochwertig produzierten Content in vielen verschiedenen Medien ein und erreicht durch die Relevanz und die Einzigartigkeit der Inhalte eine sehr hohe Reichweite und Interaktion.

 

Weitere Beiträge