Short & Sweet #7

Affiliate Marketing

Affiliate marketing is a online marketing discipline where website operators (affiliate/publisher) place advertising links or banners of a third party (merchant or advertiser) on their own website.

If these advertising measures lead to the desired success (click, purchase by user or lead), the website operator receives an appropriate commission. The performance measurement and commission payment can be based on different concepts and will be clarified in advance between publisher and advertiser.

  • Cost-per-Click (CPC): Click at the link / banner by the user
  • Cost-per-Lead (CPL): Contact of the user with the affiliate, e.g. by a call or by sending an e-mail / contact form.
  • Cost-per-Conversion (CPC): The user bought the product/service after clicking on the link/banner.

By using cookies, which are set when clicking on the banner or link, and by using appropriate tracking tools, these key figures can be recorded and evaluated. Depending on the structure of the commission model and tracking, the commission can also be paid for future purchases. In most cases, cookie times of 30 days are set up.

Affiliate-Marketing-Explaination

Benefits Affiliate Marketing:

  • Costs only arise with click, lead or purchase
  • Wide range of affiliate programs
  • Target group-specific addressing through the selection of the suitable advertisers for each target groupι

Disadvantages Affiliate Marketing:

  • Lack of success or revenue guarantee for publishers or advertisers
  • Advertisers are dependent on the (technical) quality of the target page for payment models such as cost per lead or cost per conversion

Affiliate Marketing in Practice:

In Germany, the market for affiliate programs is divided between two big players and several small to medium-sized networks. Awin and Affilinet offer the largest base of partners, but also charge relatively high initial setup fees. With the smaller providers, the initial costs are usually manageable, but in most cases there will be less turnover.

Smaller affiliate programs that are not run professionally also carry the risk that the selected publishers do not fit the brand or the product. Therefore one should carefully select the suitable programs and/or publishers and continuously check the approved and participating affiliates. It also makes sense to establish clear publisher guidelines regarding brand protection. Furthermore, it is advisable to keep a close contact with the publishers to ensure a common understanding between all parties.

Further Articles

Kurz erklärt #7

Affiliate Marketing

Affiliate Marketing ist eine Disziplin des Online Marketing, bei der Websitebetreiber (Affiliate / Publisher) Werbelinks oder Banner eines Dritten (Merchant oder Advertiser) auf der eigenen Seite platzieren.

Führen diese Werbemaßnahmen zu dem gewünschten Erfolg (Klick oder Kauf durch User), erhält der Websitebetreiber eine entsprechende Vermittlungs-Provision. Die Erfolgsmessung und Provisionszahlung kann auf verschiedenen Ansätzen beruhen und wird im Vorhinein zwischen Publisher und Advertiser geklärt.

  • Cost-per-Click (CPC): Klick auf den Link / Banner durch den User
  • Cost-per-Lead (CPL): Kontaktaufnahme des Nutzers mit dem Affiliate, bspw. durch einen Anruf oder durch das Senden einer E-Mail / eines Kontaktformulars
  • Cost-per-Conversion (CPC): Der User hat das Produkt / die Dienstleistung nach dem Klick auf den Link /Banner gekauft

Durch den Einsatz von Cookies, die mit dem Klicken auf dem Banner oder Link gesetzt werden und entsprechenden Tracking-Tools, können diese Kennzahlen erfasst und ausgewertet werden. Je nach Ausgestaltung des Provisionsmodells und des Trackings können auch bei zukünftigen Käufen des Users die Provisionen gezahlt werden. In der Regel werden Cookie-Zeiten von 30 Tagen eingerichtet.

Affiliate-Marketing-Erklaerung

Vorteile Affiliate Marketing:

  • Kosten entstehen erst bei Klick, Lead oder Kauf
  • Große Auswahl an Partnerprogrammen
  • Zielgruppenspezifische Ansprache durch die Auswahl der zur Zielgruppe passenden Advertiser

Nachteile Affiliate Marketing:

  • Fehlende Erfolgs- bzw. Einnahmegarantie für Publisher bzw. Advertiser
  • Advertiser sind bei Zahlmodellen wie Cost per Lead oder Cost per Conversion von der (technischen) Qualität der Zielseite abhängig

Affiliate Marketing in der Praxis

In Deutschland ist der Markt der Partnerprogramme unter zwei Big Playern und mehreren kleinen bis mittleren Netzwerken aufgeteilt. Awin und Affilinet bieten die größte Afiliate Basis, verlangen aber auch relativ hohe initiale Setup-Gebühren. Bei den kleineren Anbietern sind die initialen Kosten meist überschaubar, allerdings sind die Erfolgsaussichten auch geringer.

Kleinere Affiliate-Programmen, die nicht professionell betrieben werden, bergen außerdem die Gefahr, dass die ausgewählten Publisher nicht zur Marke passen und das beworbene Produkt bzw. die Marke in ein falsches Licht gerückt wird. Daher sollte man die Auswahl der passenden Programme bzw. der Publisher mit viel Sorgfalt angehen und die zugelassenen und teilnehmenden Affiliates kontinuierlich überprüfen. Es ist auch sinnvoll, klare Publisher-Vorgaben in Bezug auf den Markenschutz zu formulieren und einen engen Kontakt mit den Publishern zu halten um ein gemeinsames Verständnis zu gewährleisten.

Weitere Beiträge